Grampian Kart Club Facebook

BDOC Round 1 Report

bdoc round 1

The opening meeting of the 52nd year of karting at Boyndie was a damp affair with light rain persisting through out the day. A good entry of drivers signed up for the first round of the Boyndie Drome Open Challenge on Sunday 22nd March 2015.

Honda Cadets

Ben MacLeod and Jonathon Edwards served up an excellent race. Edwards was tucked in behind MacLeod for most of the final and they produced the closest finish of the day. Third was Logan Mann followed home by Ben Burnett. Fifth was Callum Welch from Leon Henderson and Craig Blake.

1st - Ben MacLeod (Evanton)
2nd - Jonathan Edwards (Cornhill)
3rd - Logan Mann (Aberdeen)

Mini/Junior Max

There was a mixed grid of Mini Max and Junior Max. Robbie Souter showed a clean pair of heals over Cameron McPhee and Reece Gillan to take the victory. In Mini Max, Craig Mann, finished second on the road and the class victory. Previously Aidan Welch had crashed out on lap two at the exit of Kevin's Korner while in second which left Logan Blake to take second spot on the podium and Ewan Johnston third.

Mini Max

1st - Craig Mann (Aberdeen)
2nd - Logan Blake (Oldmeldrum)
3rd - Ewan Johnston (Newmacher)

Junior Max

1st - Robbie Souter (Dyce)
2nd - Cameron McPhee (Inverurie)
3rd - Reece Gillan (Inverurie)

Prokart (Hire karts)

Large entry of prokart drivers were divided into three groups. From the heats results, finals 'C', 'B' and 'A' were contested with the top two moving onto the back of the next final. The driver of the day was undoubtedly Michael Ogilivie who won all three finals.

'A' final was led by Stuart Wyness, but this was short lived as he threw himself onto the green-stuff dropping him down the pack. Reis Robertson took the lead but was soon disposed of by Stuart Dalgarno. He held the lead for four laps but Ogilvie was closing in and took the lead with three laps left. Dalgarno retained second and third home was Iain Wilson ahead of his father Roy. Recovering Wyness came home fifth ahead of Lewis Grant and Robertson.

1st - Michael Ogilivie (Stonehaven)
2nd - Stuart Dalgarno (Peterhead)
3rd - Iain Wilson (Aultgowrie)

Senior Max

Liam Souter had the best start from pole and led all the way to the chequered flag. However he was under pressure from Mark Geraghty until lap six when Geraghty drive chain popped off the sprocket at Kevin's Korner ending his race. Connor Wilson inherited second. Third across the line was Ben Underwood in his 13-year-old Top Kart chassis, an event-full start saw Underwood have to fight his way back up after dropping from second to sixth. Fourth was Keiran Smart who was followed home by Liam Ross and Oliver Waind.

1st - Liam Souter (Banff)
2nd - Connor Wilson (Rothiemay)
3rd - Ben Underwood (Macduff)

KZ1 (Gearbox)

Neil Anderson took an early and commanding lead never to be headed as he took victory. All the action was behind him with Ian Duncan holding off Keith Morris. Morris touched Duncan as they crossed the finish line causing Duncan to spin. Duncan recovered but fell into the clutches of Dave Largue. Again Duncan got punted this time at Moravian Bend. Post race Morris and Largue both were disqualified.

1st - Neil Anderson (Insch)
2nd - Ian Duncan (Aberchirder)

bdoc round 1 trophy winners

BDOC Round 1 Trophy Winners

Championship standing can be found here

Next race meeting takes place on Sunday 12th April

Chairman, Mike Mann presented trophies in clubhouse after the meeting.

News Archive