Grampian Kart Club Facebook

BDOC Round 2 Report

The third race meeting of the year was held on Sunday 23rd April 2017. This was the second round of the Boyndie Drome Open Challenge. A good turn out of drivers had entered. A cold wind prevailed throughout the day but it stayed dry.

Honda Cadets

Callum Meldrum, who had won all three heats, got away ahead of Steven Duncan. This pair broke free of the pack. The lead change several times but it was Duncan to take the honours at the chequered flag. A race long battle for the third podium place between Darren Guijt and Lennon Brandie was resolve in favour of Brandie. Dylan Mackay came fifth ahead of Rebecca McPhee, Les Taylor , Alex Hawwit and Max Taylor.

1st - Steven Duncan (Aberchirder)
2nd - Callum Meldrum (Coaltown of Balgonie)
3rd - Lennon Brandie (Newmachar)

Mini Max

Ben Burnett got the jump at the start over Jonathan Edwards to lead the first lap. The positions swapped at mid-distance with Edwards taking the victory. Jamie Christie followed Burnett home.

Mini Max

1st - Jonathan Edwards (Cornhill)
2nd - Ben Burnett (Oldmeldrum)
3rd - Jamie Christie (Methil)

Prokart (Hire karts)

The two drivers to advance from the B final to the A Final were Keiran Glen and Alfie Chalmers. Experienced Jack Gordon was soon in front of the prokart A final and went on to take the victory. There was a closed battle for second with the position changing quite a few times between Steven Bain and Ben Gordon, which was resolved in favour of Bain at the line. Keiran Glen had a good run through the pack to finish fourth. Next across the line was Cameron McPhee followed by Martin Macleod.

1st - Jack Gordon (Whitecairns)
2nd - Steven Bain (Leochel Cushnie)
3rd - Ben Gordon (Whitecairns)

Senior Max

A frantic senior max final pole sitter, David Eason, took the early lead. Fraser Skene lost a rear wheel on the second lap and retired at the top of the circuit. This incident allowed Keiran Smart through ahead of Craig Middleton. Eason took the victory ahead of Smart and Middleton. Ross McGhie came home fourth ahead of Dominic Lund, Ryan Simpson, Jos Warren, Jamie Gomeche and Gary Warren.

1st - David Eason (Turriff)
2nd - Keiran Smart (Oldmeldrum)
3rd - Craig Middleton (St Katherins)

Senior Max 177 class

The small class was comfortably won by Andrew Gray and was followed home by Stewart Thomson and Derek Morgan.

1st - Andrew Gray (Portlethen)
2nd - Stewart Thomson (Tarves)
3rd - Derek Morgan (Tarves)

KZ2 UK (Gearbox)

Graeme Gibbs showed a clean pair of heals over the field as he raced to a comfortable victory. Colin McIrvine grabbed second from Gary Williams. Williams chased hard and got second at three-quarters distance to take second podium step. McIrvine finished third ahead of John Robertson.

1st - Graeme Gibbs (Buckie)
2nd - Gary Williams (Ellon)
3rd - Colin McIrvine (Insch)

Next race meeting takes place on Sunday 14th May.

Competition Secretary, Sherly Borton, presented trophies for GKC after the meeting.

trophy winners

Trophy winners across the classes

News Archive