Grampian Kart Club Facebook

MSA Round 3 Report

MSA round 3

The third round of GKC Championships took place at the Banff circuit on Sunday 12th July.

The feature trophies of the day were the Pioneer Mutual Shield (Driver with least points on the day with a minimum class of five) and the Granville Grubb (gearbox only).

Honda Cadets (8-13 years)

The Honda Cadets produced a superb final with a group of five creating the entertainment. The group consisted off Jonathon Edwards, Ben McLeod, Cameron Ross, Ben Burnett and Tristain Rennie. These drivers interchanged places throughout the 15 laps final to numerous times to record. Surprisingly the positions remained unaltered over the last two laps with McLeod taking the victory followed by Burnett, Edwards, Rennie and Ross. The five were separated by 6 tenths of a second at the flag. Craig Blake led the next group across the line from Callum Welch, Logan Mann and Leon Henderson. Jack Mackay led home the final group from James Lamb, Steven Duncan and Darren Guijt.

1st - Ben MacLeod (Evanton)
2nd - Ben Burnett (Bridge of Don)
3rd - Jonathon Edwards (Cornhill)
Top novice - Tristan Rennie (Dyce)

Mini/Junior Max

Robbie Souter won the Junior Max/Mini Max final.

Abbie Munro took a comfortable victory by 2.7 seconds over Logan Blake. Next up was Hamish Ross who was ahead of Aiden Welch and the hard charging Ewan Johnston. Craig Mann closed on Johnston after an earlier excursion.

Mini Max (11-15 years)

1st - Abbie Munro
2nd - Logan Blake (Oldmeldrum)
3rd - Hamish Ross (Inverness)
Top novice - Ewan Johnston (Newmacher)

Junior Max (13-17 years)

1st - Robbie Souter (Dyce)

Senior Max (16+ years)

The senior max final became a spread affair with Elliot McIntosh taking the early lead from pole position. McIntosh took a comfortable the victory from David Easton, Keiran Smart, Bob Main and Gary Bird.

1st - Elliot McIntosh (Whitecairns)
2nd - David Eason (Turriff)
3rd - Keiran Smart (Oldmeldrum)

KZ1 (Gearbox)

Ally Smith and Steven Phillip opened a gap over the rest of the field by the end of the first lap. Smith gradually drew away from Phillip to take the victory by 3 seconds and retain the Granville Grubb Memorial Trophy. A clash between Gordon Hawton and Scott Byiers at MTM Corner on lap four allowed David Logan through to third. Logan maintained the position a crossed the line third ahead of Byiers. Chloe Scott (first outing in a gearbox) was next home ahead Paul Dalgarno and Hawton.

1st - Ally Smith (Peterhead)
2nd - Steven Phillip (Stirling)
3rd - David Logan (Aberdeen)

Granville Grubb Memorial Trophy - Ally Smith (Peterhead)

Pioneer Mutual Shield - Jointly won by Ally Smith, Elliot McIntosh and Abbie Munro

Trophy winners

Mike Mann (chairman) presented trophies in clubhouse after the meeting.

Championship standings can be found here

Full race results available at MyLaps

Next race meeting takes place on Sunday 9th August when the final round of the Scottish Super Series visits.

News Archive