Grampian Kart Club Facebook

MSA Round 5 Report

MSA round 5

The final round of the MSA Club Championships took place in ideal dry conditions. A cold wind got up in the afternoon. The feature trophy of the day was the GKC Team Trophy with teams of four drivers drawn out of the hat. It was also the first round of the Northern Challenge with the second round taking place at Golspie.

Honda Cadets (8-13 years)

Cameron Ross, Ben McLeod and Oliver Hunter broke away from the pack early on in the final. Ross led the whole race until the last tour when first McLeod and then Hunter got through. McLeod took the victory from Hunter and disappointed Ross. Jonathan Edwards initially tried to stay with the front three but finished a safe fourth. A close midfield battle was taking place between Ben Burnett, Logan Mann, Oliver Stewart, Leon Henderson and David Mitchell. Stewart dropped out at Shirlaw’s bend on lap ten. Henderson was on Burnett’s bumper and took fifth on the last lap. Burnett crossed the line a tenth behind. Jake Western, the only Iame cadet, came home seventh ahead of David Mitchell and Logan Mann.

1st - Tristan Rennie (Dyce)
2nd - Cameron Ross (Muir of Ord)
3rd - Ben MacLeod (Evanton)
Honda novice - Callum Welch (Banchory)

Mini Max (11-15 years) / Junior Max (13-17 years)

Abbie Munro and Craig Mann produced a great Mini Max final. Munro got through to lead at the end of the first lap from Mann. Munro was under pressure and was trying to anticipate the next challenge. Suddenly Mann had dropped back with no explanation. After race interview revealed that that he accidentally hit the engine kill switch. Quickly realising his error, he fired the engine and began the chase Munro down setting the quickest lap of 39.297 seconds. Mann caught Munro and tried a last lap manoeuvre but Munro held on to take the victory by a tenth. Joshua Nekews took third from Toney Logie, Aiden Welch and Jake Logan. Robbie Souter took the Junior Max victory.

1st - Abbie Munro (Bonar Bridge)
2nd - Craig Mann (Aberdeen)
3rd - Joshua Nekews (Dundee)

Junior Max (13-17 years)

1st - Robbie Souter (Dyce)

Senior Max (16+ years)

A slow start pole-man Ryan Cannon allowed Keiran Smart to move to the inside and take the lead. Cannon recovered and began the chase. Closing, closing and caught, Smart on lap 5 and moved through at Kevin’s Korner. Cannon pulled away to take his victory by 1.5 seconds. Kevin Ross ran the early part of the final in third. Elliott McIntosh, who had troubled heats, came through at mid race to take third. Ross came home fourth ahead of Tony Strachan, Liam Ross and Ross MacLean.

1st - Ryan Cannon (Leven)
2nd - Keiran Smart (Oldmeldrum)
3rd - Elliott McIntosh (Whitecairns)

KZ2 (Gearbox)

Ally Smith put on a demonstration in what could be his last kart race. Rumours are that he will be out in a BMW Compact Cup at Knockhill next year. Smith took the victory by 11 seconds. David Logan had slotted into second followed by Roddy Jack and Neil Anderson. Scott Byiers was the man on the move, moving to third and taking second spot mid race. Byiers took second with Logan third. Jack retired with a puncture. Anderson took fourth.

1st - Ally Smith (Longhaven)
2nd - Scott Byiers (Crimond)
3rd - David Logan (Aberdeen)

GKC Chairman, Mike Mann, presented trophies for GKC after the meeting.

Championship standings can be found here

Team trophy winners, full results here

Trophy winners